The November Marathon- Scream!

This month I watched the Scream films, and if you’ve seen them you already know they’re awesome. If you haven’t, you really should. Check out my two sentence review for each film below;

ghostface

Scream, 1996 – Wes Craven

If you’re a fan of horror/ slasher films watch this now. It’s a classic, kind of self aware, fun film with lots to love. 4.5/5


Scream 2, 1997 – Wes Craven

Dewey’s theme, aka the goofiest piece of music assigned to a character ever, is introduced and I love it. Not as strong as the first Scream, but it brings something new and feels like an appropriate sequel. 4/5


Scream 3, 2000 – Wes Craven

I’m 50% invested in these movies because they’re amazing, 50% for Dewey. This is worst movie of the franchise, but it still has Dewey. 2.5 /5


Scream 4, 2011- Wes Craven

New decade, new rules, more gore, more classic Scream. “Consider this an alternate ending” 3.5/ 5


The Scream films are great, they’re a homage and a parody of slasher movies, a genre that fascinates most horror fans. While the last two movies fizzle out a bit they’re still such an enjoyable watch that it doesn’t really matter. While I’m disappointed that Dewey’s theme lived and died with the second movie I think I’ll get over it.

Best moments of the series: The Stab franchise that runs through all of the films, it’s clever and adds another layer of parody/ homage to the films.

Worst moment of the series: Dewey is a major player in all of the films until Scream 4 where he is reduced to driving back and fourth for what feels like the whole movie- worst of all he never seems to get anywhere in time to do anything helpful.

Comment and let me know if you’ve watched all the Scream films and tell me what you think!

2 comments

  1. I enjoyed the first two and while I agree that the second two weren’t up to the standards of the first I’m a little less forgiving than you I think. Not that they’re the worst movies ever just a a disappointment.
    It’s a shame that parody now seems to exclusively “Scary Movie” and the like because I would like more of these kind of self aware movies, maybe even outside the slasher genre.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

