For the love of Werewolves

Since the release of Late Phases on Netflix UK my love for werewolf films has taken on a life of it’s own. While I have yet to see a single film that completely nails the look of the wolf- man, I have seen plenty werewolf films that still deliver something between terrifying and awesome. So with that said, here’s a list of werewolf films I’ve watched this year that I think do the genre justice.

product_detail_3162030205001_3917943531001_dogsoldiers


An American Werewolf in London, 1981

Yes, this film was in my best movie of the month post in October, 2015- and that’s because it’s awesome. With one of the best transformation scenes know to the werewolf genre and some honestly funny scenes, this film is a perfect blend of humor and horror. 5/5


bad-moon

Bad Moon, 1996

Okay so the transformation scene is terrible, but there is an adorable German Shepard dog who is basically the protagonist of this film. Bad Moon is often considered wildly underrated, and while I don’t know if that’s 100% true, this film does do a lot of things well when it comes to the werewolf and for that reason alone it’s probably worth a watch. 3.5/5


Dog Soldiers, 2002

I love the look of the werewolves in this film, it’s a genuinely scary piece of cinema with lots of action. The simple premise is basically; British Solders vs Werewolves, why wouldn’t you watch this film? 4.5/5


ginger_snaps_6

Ginger Snaps, 2000

This film has a cult following and it’s easy to see why. Ginger Snaps is a brilliant film for proving not all horror movies are sexist- after all not many films want to talk about womens issues as much as horror films do. Yes, sometimes it does feel like a weird horror movie made for teenage girls but, trust me, Ginger Snaps has a lot to offer. 3/5


Howl, 2015

I reviewed Howl last month and described it as ‘a little bit trashy’. HOWEVER Howl deserves to be on this list because the design of the werewolf in this film is unlike anything I’ve seen in any other werewolf movie, and I appreciate that. 3.5/5


maxresdefault

Late Phases, 2014

So I’ve already reviewed this on my blog, and I think I’ll just copy and paste the first line of it so you can get a feel for this film:

Blind, retired, ex- military, shovel- wielding Ambrose McKinley (played by Nick Damici) doesn’t give a fuck. 4/5


The Howling, 1981

This movie took its sweet time to get to where it was going, with no great reason to, but when we finally arrive The Howling becomes worth it. There’s also lots of transformation scenes done well, and isn’t that the bit we’re all waiting for in a werewolf film anyway? 3.5/5


maxresdefault1

Got any werewolf film suggestions for me? Comment below and I’ll be sure to get round to them.

Leave a Reply

