The October Marathon- A Nightmare on Elm Street

So over the course of this month I watched all the Nightmare on Elm Street films and I was honestly surprised at how, once I started watching I only wanted to watch more. Take a look at my two line reviews for each film to see what I thought;

A-Nightmare-On-Elm-Street

A Nightmare on Elm Street, 1984 – Wes Craven

This one is solid. It starts with a great idea and runs with it. 4/5


A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s revenge, 1985 – Jack Sholder

I want to wipe this one out of my memory- it’s all over the place and I don’t know why we ditched the original premise. Wes Craven where are you?? 1.5/5


a-nightmare-on-elm-street-3-dream-warriors1

A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors, 1987 – Chuck Russell

Freddy starts spitting one liners, and tongues, and I love it. Craven is back helping out and the re-watch-ability on this film is undeniable. 3/5


a-nightmare-on-elm-street-4-pic-41

A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master, 1988 – Renny Harlin

We start with the three remaining Elm Street children and, boy, they really are being knocked out like flies. Though I do love a good montage. 2.5/5


A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child, 1989 – Stephen Hopkins

They’re way too invested in Freddy’s back story at this point, but I’m way too invested in these movies.

“We’ll see bitch, we’ll see” 2/5


freddypowerglove

Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare, 1991 – Rachael Talalay

Freddy is making popular culture references, he’s having a great time playing video games and cosplay-ing as the wicked witch. By far the goofiest and the acting’s pretty bad. 2/5


Wes Craven’s New Nightmare, 1994 – Wes Craven

Freddy has a comic book- esque make over and Dylan is a little shit. The film gets to the final act before it starts to feel like part of the Nightmare on Elm Street family, but the last act did save me from total disappointment at the end of this marathon.


Feel free to comment, share or like. Let me know if you’ve seen all the Nightmare on Elm Street films or if you have any ideas on what I should marathon next month!

Leave a Reply

